Sunday, September 18, 2011

Vaisheshika - 01

Vaisheshika teaches that the knowledge of nature of reality is obtained by knowing the special properties or essential differences which distinguish nine Eternal Realities:
a. Prithvi - Earth
b. Apas - Water
c. Tejas - Fire
d. Vayu - Air
e. Akasha - Ether
f. Kala - Time
g. Dik - Space
h. Atman - Soul
i. Manas - Mind

When one has knowledge of the distinguishing characteristics of reality, objects of perception  will not evoke feelings of love or fear which are the sources of misery.

No comments:

Post a Comment